hakone: lake ashi & hakone shrine   6 comments

Sunday, May 28:  After taking the T bus from the Hakone Botanical Garden of Wetlands, I’m dropped at Togendai, the northwestern tip of Lake Ashinoko. I’m just in time to catch the pirate ship run by Hakone Sightseeing Cruise.  I run along with a few stragglers to board the ship.

Hakone Sightseeing Cruise at Togendai

Hakone Sightseeing Cruise

The door closes behind me as I embark, and the boat is underway.  It takes about 30 minutes for the boat to cruise to the southeast end of the lake at Hakone Machi.  I have on walking sandals, capris and a short sleeve shirt, but no jacket to keep me warm against the cold wind.  I’m not dissuaded though; I have to take pictures, so I must stand outside on the deck.  The warm seats inside are for sissies! 🙂

Lake Ashi

It’s a rather dark and cloudy day today, and cooler than yesterday.  It seems I made a poor decision yesterday to make the circuit around Hakone in a counterclockwise direction.  Yesterday was a perfect day, warm and sunny with blue skies.  If I had traveled in the clockwise direction, I would have been on Lake Ashi yesterday, and I might have seen views of Mt. Fuji.  Oh well, it’s simply not meant to be. I have missed views of Mt. Fuji because of cloudy skies when I’ve been at Mt. Takao, Odawara, and now Hakone.  I will soon travel to the Five Lakes area of Fuji, but only when the weather forecast is perfect.  I’m determined to see that iconic mountain before I leave Japan.

Hakone Sightseeing Cruise on Lake Ashi

A few rays of sunshine are making their way to the mountains around Lake Ashi, making them glow.

Lake Ashi

Lake Ashi, also referred to as Lake Ashinoko, is a crater lake that lies along the southwest wall of the caldera of Mount Hakone, a complex volcano that last erupted in 1170.  The lake is known for its views of Mt. Fuji, its numerous hot springs, historical sites, and ryokan.

Lake Ashi

There are even a few hardy souls zipping across the lake in their boats.

Lake Ashi

Lake Ashi

We cross paths with another Hakone Sightseeing Cruise pirate ship on the lake.  The other boat is going in the Togendai direction, while we continue to Hakone-machi.

Lake Ashi

Lake Ashi

Lake Ashi

Lake Ashi

As we get to the southeast end of the lake, I’m on the lookout for the Hakone Shrine’s torii gate in Lake Ashi.  I see it, but it’s awfully far away.

the torii of Hakone Shrine on Lake Ashi

Lake Ashi

pulling into Hakonemachi-ko

Lake Ashi at Hankonemachi-ko

We come into to dock at Hakonemachi-ko, where, in order to get to Motohakone, I have to jump ship, right onto another pirate boat.  I cross the dock immediately upon disembarking, and hop on the adjacent boat, which leaves immediately for Motohakone.

a change of ship

heading to Motohakone

heading to Motohakone

On this leg of the cruise, I get a slightly better view of the torii gate, but it’s still a little too far for my taste.

Hakone Shrine’s torii in the lake

Hakone Shrine’s torii in Ashi Lake

Hakone Shrine’s torii in Ashi Lake

pulling in to Motohakone

Motohakone

At Motohakone, I disembark again, and when I ask about getting to Hakone Shrine, I’m told I need to walk along the shore for about 15 minutes. I do so, and soon I’m at the first torii gate of the Shinto shrine.

first torii at Hakone Shrine

At the second torii gate, I walk uphill to the shrine.

Second torii at Hakone Shrine

small shrine at Hakone Shrine

I find the light is always challenging when taking pictures of these red shrines.  It’s so frustrating trying to get a decent photo.  Not only that, but every place is so crowded with tourists or worshippers that there is never a view without people.

Hakone Shrine

I’m now in the habit of taking pictures of the ema at every shrine I visit.  I love them; each shrine has its own distinct ema.  I wish I could buy one at every shrine, but they can be quite expensive, and I don’t want to be loaded down with a bunch of ema when I return home in August.

ema at Hakone Shrine

ema at Hakone Shrine

ema at Hakone Shrine

Hakone Shrine

Finally, I walk back down the hill, hoping against all hope that the torii in the water won’t be packed with people.

a small shrine

Sadly, a herd of people are all taking turns being photographed in front of the torii.  I don’t know why everyone has to have a photo of themselves in front of every tourist attraction!

the crowds at the torii gate in Lake Ashi

I have to be creative and try to get some shots from the shoreline on either side of the torii gate.  The people in the little swan paddle boats have the right idea.  I think I will have to come back to Hakone just to rent a paddle boat for a close up view of the torii from the lake side.

the torii in the lake

Hakone Shrine’s torii in the lake

the torii in Lake Ashi

Hakone Shrine’s torii in Lake Ashi

After trying every angle I can, and deciding I will have to be satisfied with whatever photos I get, I head back on the path to the Motohakone bus station.

a well-worn bridge

a bride on the path

a roundabout path

mossy steps

a stone path

view of Lake Ashi at Motohakone

Motohakone

At the bus stop, where I must take a bus back to Hakone Yumoto, two buses are due to arrive, a local and an express.  The queue is quite long and I worry that I won’t make it back in time to catch my 3:20 Romancecar train. When the local bus, which takes one hour to get to Hakone Yumoto, arrives, it is packed, meaning I will have to stand on a crowded bus for an hour.  The express bus takes a half hour to get to Hakone Yumoto, but I have to wait another 20 minutes for that one. I decide to move to the line for the express bus and just wait.  At least I’m at the front of that line, so I hope it means I’ll get a seat.

It turns out I’m one of the first people on the bus, so I get a good seat by the window.  A young lady sits down beside me; her name is Whitney and she is an American working in Tokyo for PricewaterhouseCoopers, doing business as PwC in Japan.  She and I talk about how we go out and explore every weekend, mainly just walking around taking pictures, which we both enjoy doing.  She stayed on a whim overnight in Hakone; she wasn’t sure when she came down if she would do a day trip or an overnighter, but she decided because it was such a struggle to get around that she would stay the night. We both agree that Hakone is best as a weekend trip.  She admits that she was able to stay at a very expensive hotel, while I sadly have to confess that my hotel was on the cheap end at $107, and nothing special at that.

It’s a very nice conversation, and it makes the half-hour bus ride speed by.

When I arrive in Hakone Yumoto, I have about an hour to kill.  I originally intended to visit a fancy onsen but it would be too much of a rush to do that in an hour.  Instead I go in search of a restaurant where I can eat some lunch.

Hakone Yumoto

Hakone Yumoto

I find a restaurant that serves shrimp tempura, one of my standbys in Japan, and I enjoy my meal at leisure.

restaurant in Hakone Yumoto

shrimp tempura

I go to the station, where I pick up my bag at Hakone Baggage Service and pay them another 800 yen for the delivery service.  Then I wait patiently for the 3:20 Romancecar.  It turns out I have plenty of time and I probably could have easily squeezed in either the onsen or the Narukawa Museum of Art, which was near the bus stop in Motohakone and is supposed to have great views of Mt. Fuji.  Of course there would have been no views today, and that’s why I didn’t bother.  Oh well, I’ve already decided that I must come back to visit that museum, rent a paddle boat near the torii, and visit the fancy onsen.  As the Romancecar is so easy and fast, I can easily do those three things as a day trip.

Steps today: 14, 613 or 6.19 miles. 🙂

 

6 responses to “hakone: lake ashi & hakone shrine

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We did a cruise on Lake Ashi, but not in a pirate ship. Our boat went right past the Torii gate. We also did the cable car trip up to the mountain. I think your photos of the red shrines are wonderful. Very vibrant.

    • Oh, I wish I had been on a boat that went right by the torii gate, Carol. I didn’t do the cable car up the mountain because it was closed for repairs this time. Maybe I’ll get back there. It isn’t that far from me. Thanks, I’m glad you like my red shrine photos. 🙂

      • I’m not surprised to hear the cable car was closed. It was all quite shabby and run down when we were there. The view of the lakes is quite stunning from the top, but you’ve probably seen other views of the area.

      • I guess it’s good that they’re doing maintenance then, since it was run down and shabby. Oh well, we’ll see if I have time to get back there. Time is running out. 🙂

  2. Cruising on pirate ships! Brilliant. I’m amazed at how much you packed in here, and all before lunch.

    • I know, Anabel; there are some awfully bizarre things in Japan, but that’s what makes Japan so quirky and interesting. I did do a lot; I guess rising with the sun helps! Sunrise here is 4:30 a.m. since Japan doesn’t do Daylight Savings Time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

