the tarō okamoto museum of art & a rose garden in kawasaki   11 comments

Saturday, May 20:  After leaving the Japan Open-Air Folk House Museum, I walk through a leafy park to the Tarō Okamoto Museum of Art, which collects and preserves the works of Tarō Okamoto, and his parents Kanoko and Ippei.

Tarō Okamoto  (February 26, 1911 – January 7, 1996) was a Japanese artist noted for his abstract and avant-garde paintings and sculpture.

Tarō Okamoto Museum of Art

Entry at the Tarō Okamoto Museum of Art

Work began on the museum in November 1996; it was completed in July 1999, and the museum opened in October 1999.

There is only one place inside the museum where photos are allowed.  My photos are featured in the gallery below.  In addition, I bought some postcards and photographed those.

Outside are some interesting sculptures.

sculpture in a pond by Tarō Okamoto

sculpture by Tarō Okamoto

sculpture by Tarō Okamoto

sculpture by Tarō Okamoto

sculpture by Tarō Okamoto

After leaving the museum, I go in search of the rose garden, open only from May 11-May 28, a part of Ikuta Ryokuchi Baraen.  I trek up a steep hill through neighborhoods and a forest, wondering the whole time if I’m going the right way.

houses in a neighborhood on the way to the rose garden

pretty in pink

On a steep hill through the neighborhood, I suddenly see the Japanese woman I ate lunch with at the folk museum.  We greet each other and I show her my phone with the rose garden name.  She points up the hill repeatedly and smiles, saying something cheerfully in Japanese.

going up…

and up…

I finally find a group of rose bushes and my first thought is: This is it?  But then I see there is a larger spread down a hill.

roses

corals and pinks

pink tipped roses

I reach the full garden at about 4:15 pm and I see a sign at the entrance says closing time is 4:30.  Luckily there is no entry fee; I’d hate to pay with only 15 minutes left.

The rose garden is crowded with families and photographers, along with plenty of roses, trellises and sculptures.

rose garden in Kawasaki

rose garden in Kawasaki

sculpture in the rose garden

roses in Kawasaki

coral pretties in the Kawasaki rose garden

Here is a small gallery of roses.  Click on any of the images for a full-sized slide show.

I love the lush layers and shades of roses.

layered petals

mango colors

mango/coral roses

layers and layers

The garden also has some classical sculptures.

a goddess in the garden

archway to roses

the goddess from afar

the rose garden in Kawasaki

pretty petals

a rose is a rose is a rose

Now that it’s a little past 4:30, some official looking people are rounding people up to steer them out of the garden.

another small trellis

evening falls on the rose garden

As there is no daylight savings time in Japan, the sun has been setting around 6:45.  Still, two hours before sunset, the evening shadows are layering themselves over the garden.  I make my way out of the garden and back over the hills and through the neighborhoods and eventually back to Mukogaokayuen Station. By now, I’m warm, tired and ready to go home.

Because I’ve been hot wearing my tennis shoes all day in the heat, I stop in Machida and buy a pair of walking sandals at the Skechers store.  Now I’ll be prepared for outdoor walking in the heat of summer. 🙂

Total steps today: 19,744 (8.37 miles)

 

11 responses to “the tarō okamoto museum of art & a rose garden in kawasaki

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m glad you made it to the rose garden with time to spare, Cathy. The roses are just beautiful.

  2. Stunning!

  3. Gorgeous roses! They’re just starting to come into their own here. 🙂 🙂

  4. Crikey you managed to see a lot of roses in the short time you had there! I bet the fragrance was delightful. The Japanese seem to be very fond of their sculptures and their gardens. I hadn’t realised that. As Jo mentioned the roses are just beginning here, though after the storms today and the 55 mph wind tonight I’m not sure how many of mine will have any buds left on tomorrow.

    • Haha, yes, Jude, there were a lot of roses packed into a small space. Surprisingly the fragrance wasn’t that strong. The Japanese do certainly love their gardens! Did any of your roses survive?

      • Some buds just opening so I guess they survived, just as well that none were actually open on Monday! Still blowy here, but I shall have to go out an clear up the debris at some point.

  5. The colours of the roses are beautiful – it must have been wonderful to see.

Leave a Reply

